New Year’s Countdown – 1 Day To Go!

Got Honey

One day left people! Are you freaking out yet? I can’t believe that I’m actually going to be eating out for all of my Holiday and Shabbat meals this year and won’t actually be doing any cooking! Now before I start getting hate mail, please know that 1) I miss the joy of creating and sharing what I’ve made with guests and 2) It ain’t so easy being a guest either! Having to be on your best behaviour all the time!? Hopefully this will be good practice for me for the new year, that I continue my good behaviour into the next 12 months.

This reminder to me to behave ties into something I read from Rabbi Baruch S. Davidson, a member of Chabad.org. He explains why we use an apple in particular on Rosh HaShannah, rather than any other sweet fruit. He says that the apple symbolizes the Garden of Eden, which according to the Midrash had the scent of an apple orchard, and in Kabbalah is called “the holy apple orchard.” He goes on the say that when Isaac commented regarding his son Jacob (Genesis 27:27), “Behold, the fragrance of my son is like the fragrance of a field, which the L‑rd has blessed!” the biblical commentator Rashi explains that this refers to the scent of an apple orchard, the scent of the Garden of Eden. Furthermore, when King Solomon depicts the love G‑d harbours for His nation, he writes (Song of Songs 8:5): “Beneath the apple tree I aroused you[r love].” Eating an apple on Rosh Hashanah is an attempt to remind G‑d of our age-old love.

So thank you Rabbi Davidson, now I have a reminder to behave and we have a reminder of G-d’s love for his people. For more information about Chabad, please check out their website at www.chabad.org.

Leave a Reply

