Under the Weather

sick3-1vhoyqf

Well dear readers, it turns out that despite wishing that one doesn’t get sick doesn’t actually prevent one from getting sick… who knew? That dreaded bug that has been going around claimed me on Monday, after taking down three of my loved ones. You would think that a cold bug would have more respect for the high holidays! So again I find myself in the strange position of NOT cooking for the holiday. Don’t get me wrong, I am appreciative of those doing the work for me, but as I’ve stated in the past, the joy for me comes from preparing, not the eating. I know I’m strange 😊

Being at the mercy of someone else however is very much part of the holiday of Sukkot. Essentially we are saying to G-d, “I trust in You”. I trust that You will protect me and my family, whether it is under a Heavenly cloud in the desert, or in a wooden shack in the backyard. I trust that the decree that You decided for me over Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur was the right decree, even if my human mind may not realize it. I trust that You have a plan in mind for me, my family, B’nei Israel, and the world at large. It is this trust in G-d that Sukkot is really all about.

So, we trust that it will be a good year, that the Succah will remain standing, despite the weather, and that we are loved and cherished in G-d’s eyes, even if we do get a cold now and then 😉

