South of the Border

South of the Border

When I was a little kid, my family used to travel down to Florida quite often for a summer vacation. My parents would put work aside for 3-4 weeks, and we would all climb into the family car and drive down I-95 to the citrus-laden,  warm (read sticky and humid) sunshine state. The trip usually consisted of a 4 or 5 days in Walt Disney World (truly the happiest place on earth!) and then about 10 days on the Gulf coast in a rented house where we would read, swim, eat, swim, watch a movie, swim… you get the idea. The drive always included though a stop at “South of the Border”, a rest-stop/attraction located just south of the border between North and South Carolina. It was, and still is, a mecca of awful tourist kitsch and slightly offensive novelties. For a kid, it was AMAZING! You would see the signs along the highway, crazy day-glow billboards with moving parts beckoning you to stop, for a little siesta. Truth was though, my parents loved it as much as we did. Recently, my mother stopped by to pay homage on a a road-trip, and she told me it was just like I remembered. With that in mind, today’s recipe is for Chicken Tortilla Soup. A Mexican/Latino spin on what we Jews have been using as penicillin for years. I hope you enjoy the caliente flavours and give yourself a little olé!

