Out California Way…

California

Yesterday’s blog started me thinking back to my family’s travels. We were very fortunate to be able to travel quite a bit, whether it be for business or pleasure, often a bit of both, as my parents who had their own business did consulting work all over North America, and would take us with them when they travelled. It made a very good impression on me, and I still love to travel to this day.

On one trip in particular, we went out to California. I think I was around 14 or 15, but I could be completely wrong about that. There are two things about that trip though that I remember with perfect clarity. Firstly, My mother sang every song she knew that related to California in general, and to the locale we were in specifically. That meant anything from the Beach Boys (or arguably The Mamas & The Papas) “California Dreamin'” to “Do You Know the Way to San Jose?” by Dionne Warwick.

The second thing was the fish chowder that we had at The Milky Way, a kosher dairy restaurant in L.A., owned and operated by Leah Adler, otherwise known as Stephen Spielberg’s Mom. She is a tiny sprite of a woman, but a huge power house! She is just wonderful. As for her soup, when I was there, it was only served on Fridays, but it was AMAZING! So here is a version that I was able to come across that may come close, but to be honest, get out there and get a bowl of hers yourself! To read more about the restaurant, check out their ZAGAT review here.

