It’s All Greek To Me

It's All Greek to MeWell, I thought I’d round off soup week with a trip to Greece. I figured with all the different regions and cultures I covered, I couldn’t leave the Greeks out! My family used to have a tradition, back before we became Orthodox, of spending New Year’s Eve having Greek food and going to see whatever new Disney movie had come out that year. We would go with another family who all had children the same ages as my family, and we would sit in the theatre, the kids separate from the adults, acting like we were there on our own. One of my favourite parts of the evening though would be the fish soup that I would always have. It’s tart lemon flavour always appealed to me, and I loved the big chunks of vegetables and firm fish. Times have changed, and we no longer have this New Year’s tradition, but my mother still makes this soup, usually during the summer or on Shavous, along with a big salad and lots of crusty bread. It really is a meal in itself and fills both my stomach and my memories. Opa!

