All Dressed Up…

DressingsSo personally, I love a good salad. Though I tend to be partial to salads that are more “gunk” than lettuce. By “gunk” of course I mean every vegetable under the sun (other than a leafy green) and any accoutrements that you can find. Gimme a Greek Village salad any day! A simple mixture of large chunks of tomato, peppers, red onion, cucumber, feta cheese and olives. I’m practically already drooling. I think salads get a bad rap as “diet food” when, at the end of the day, some of them can contain more fat and calories than burger. Of course though, that’s what makes them awesome. I like playing up different tastes and textures as well. Add some dried cranberries or raisins for a sweet, chewy bite. Add cheese for some salt and creaminess. Don’t forget things like seeds and nuts, or croutons, for a crunch.

Then of course, you have the pièce de résistance… The dressing! I normally tend to go with a simple vinaigrette mixture, based on the ratio of 3 to 1: 3 parts oil to one part acid (vinegar, lemon juice, etc.), then salt, pepper, and any other spices or flavours that I want. That’s my standard go to when I’m making any type of salad. But…. every now and then, I break out the big guns and go for something thick and creamy, like today’s recipe for Green Goddess Dressing. It’s been around since the 1920s but I was a little slow to jump on that bandwagon, only personally discovering it for myself in this past year. The rich dressing makes an amazing topper for salads (naturally), but also works as a dip or marinade for fish. Enjoy!

